Dream Angus comes to you at night and bestows dreams. Just the sight of him may be enough to make you lose your heart, for he is also the god of love, youth and beauty.

In this mesmerising retelling of the Celtic myth, Alexander McCall Smith unites dream and reality, leaving us to wonder: what is life but the pursuit of dreams?

The Myths series brings together some of the world’s finest writers, each of whom has retold a myth in a contemporary and memorable way. Authors in the series include Karen Armstrong, Margaret Atwood, A.S. Byatt, David Grossman, Natsuo Kirino, Alexander McCall Smith, Philip Pullman, Ali Smith and Jeanette Winterson.

An enchanting tale”
The Times

“A gem-like piece of work”
Daily Telegraph

“McCall Smith brings to the Angus story a sly and deceptive simplicity, combined with a charm that has a line of tight, sharp wire running all the way through it … A book that is full of small marvels … Resonant and deeply unsettling”

“Perhaps the finest I have read from the McCall Smith pen”

“Reads like a fairytale for adults, a light, rose-tinted book … Well-written and smartly contemporary”
The Skinny

Alexander McCall Smith is the author of over fifty books, including the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series of novels and several collections of short stories, including The Girl Who Married a Lion and Heavenly Date and Other Flirtations. Many of his books have become bestsellers throughout the world and he has received numerous awards for his writing, including the British Book Awards Author of the Year Award in 2004 and a CBE for Services to Literature in 2007. He lives in Scotland.

Dream Angus The Celtic God of Dreams - The Canons Alexander McCall Smith

  • Brand: Canongate Books
  • Product Code: CAN;9781786894533
  • Availability: In Stock
  • £9.99

  • Ex Tax: £9.99

Tags: Dream Angus The Celtic God of Dreams - The Canons, Alexander McCall Smith